Monday, August 11, 2008

Artichoke Spinach Dip

Now I take all the credit for this creation! Well not really, but I have combined over 10 different recipes and tweaked ingredients to my liking. Wow, I sound like such a picky person already! Well, I must say that I HATE mayonnaise and sour cream; yet they are the main components of the traditional version of this recipe. So I obviously swapped out nasty ingredients for better/better for you ingredients, and the dip actually tastes good! Take it from Lisa, she will tell you. I made this a few weeks ago when she and the girls came over and she loved it; she called me later that evening for the recipe. That is how I know when someone really likes what I have made! Enjoy!

Artichoke Spinach Dip

1 can of artichokes (I like the ones in water, not oil) chopped
10 oz. frozen spinach, thawed and drained* (1 package)
1 block (8 oz.) of cream cheese, softened
1 cup (8 oz.) organic plain yogurt
1 cup of shredded cheese (mozzarella or Swiss work best)
1/2 cup shredded Parmesan
1 tsp. garlic powder
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Whip cream cheese.(You can do this by hand with a fork; I like to use my KitchenAid mixer)

Combine all of the ingredients; be sure to mix well.

Transfer to a casserole dish (or anything oven-safe)

Sprinkle a little extra cheese on top (Seriously though, just a little, or it will burn)

Bake for 30 minutes.

Serve with a sliced French or sourdough baguette, or baby carrots and celery.

Pig out!

*If you need to thaw the spinach in a hurry, put it in a colander under running warm water, and be sure to SQUEEZE all of the water out

*This can be put together 24 hours ahead of time, just cover and store in the fridge. Preheat the oven just the same, and bake uncovered. You may need to add 5-10 more minutes, just to make sure that it is heated through

1 comment:

Lisa M. said...

this is the best dip ever, im going to make it for briana's bday party. This is the best one i have tasted so far, and I have tasted allot. thats how you know it is soooooooo good. I felt bad for the kids that day, because I think I ate all of it :)